PARTICIPATING IN DISTRIBUTION AND PROMOTION

Documentary production wouldn’t be meaningful if the films produced were never seen. Seeking a diverse audience is at the heart of Docmonde’s distribution programme.

Festivals are often the first springboards for films, enabling the filmmakers and producers to be recognised by moviegoers and professionals. Docmonde’s reputation has permitted the construction of a large network of partners in Europe and each of the territories where Docmonde operates. The Etats Généraux du Film documentaire in Lussas is the founding festival partner, creating an Africadoc section in 2003, renamed Docmonde since 2014. Other partnerships have been set up giving visibility to films around Europe (Festival Millenium in Brussels, Dok Leipzig…) but most of all in the film makers’ native countries: Festival Golden Apricot (Armenia), Flahertiana (Russia), FIFAC (French Guiana)…
Docmonde has additionally overseen the setting-up of major events that prioritise the screening of films developed in their programmes: The Rencontres Sobate created by Africadoc Burkina in Ouagadougou in 2009 and the Saint-Louis Documentary film festival in Senegal, initiated and supported by Docmonde from 2014 to 2017.

Many other distribution initiatives have enabled films to be seen all over the world, starting with creenings organised during the Docmonde screen writing workshops Occasionally open to the public, they encourage the mixing of diverse views and opinions so dear to Docmonde. Of course
cinemas remain the ideal place to screen films and Docmonde-member producers do this regularly, during the Mois du film documentaire – Documentary film month – in France, as well as throughout the year often in partnership with international associations.

TV channels are also fundamental to Docmonde’s activities. They often commit to the filmmakers and their producers right from the development phase. TV channels are also essential in reaching a large audience through their digital platforms on the internet. Online broadcasting is currently being developed worldwide and Docmonde has been a partner of the online platform Tënk from its conception, with a section Docmonde that offers a selection of films accompanied by Docmonde.

In keeping with its goal, from creation to screening, Docmonde continues to develop and nurture new partnerships that offer the filmmakers audiences in their home countries as well as the rest of the world. These audiences bring life to the films and in turn experience unique and moving creations.

Lussas - docmonde@lussasdoc.org - 04.27.52.90.23

EnglishFrench

Participer à la diffusion

La production documentaire n’aurait pas de sens si les films ne trouvaient pas finalement leurs publics. Cette pluralité des spectateurs est au cœur des actions de diffusion de Docmonde.

Les festivals sont souvent les premiers tremplins pour les films, en permettant aux auteurs et producteurs d’être reconnus par les cinéphiles et les professionnels. La renommée de Docmonde a permis de construire un large réseau de partenaires en Europe et dans chacune des territoires où Docmonde opère. Les Etats généraux du film documentaire de Lussas sont le premier festival partenaire qui dès 2003 créa une section Africadoc devenue la section Docmonde en 2014. D’autres partenariats se sont construits et permettent de donner de la visibilité aux films en Europe (Festival Millenium à Bruxelles, Dok Leipzig…) mais surtout dans les pays de leurs auteurs : Festival Golden Apricot (Arménie), Flahertiana (Russie), FIFAC (Guyane)…
Docmonde a également accompagné la mise en place d’évènements majeurs mettant en avant les productions issues de ses activités : les Rencontres Sobatè créées par Africadoc Burkina à Ouagadougou en 2009 et le Festival du film documentaire de Saint-Louis du Sénégal, initié et porté par Docmonde de 2014 à 2017.

Bien d’autres initiatives de diffusion permettent aux films de circuler dans le monde entier, à commencer par les projections organisées lors des ateliers d’écriture Docmonde. Parfois ouvertes au public, elles permettent une circulation transversale des films et concrétisent la rencontre des regards chère à Docmonde.
Les salles de cinéma restent naturellement des lieux privilégiés pour accueillir les films et les producteurs membres de Docmonde y présentent régulièrement leurs films, entre autres dans le cadre du Mois du film documentaire en France, mais aussi tout en long de l’année souvent en partenariat avec d’autres structures associatives de par le monde.

Les chaines de télévision sont également centrales dans les activités de Docmonde : souvent engagées aux côtés des auteurs et des producteurs dès le développement des films, elles sont essentielles pour atteindre des publics variés sur les ondes hertziennes et désormais sur internet. La diffusion en ligne se développe sur tous les continents. Docmonde est ainsi partenaire de la plateforme Tënk depuis sa création. Cette plateforme programme, sur sa plage Docmonde, une sélection de films accompagnés par Docmonde.

Dans la cohérence de son travail, de la création à la diffusion, Docmonde continue de nouer de nouveaux partenariats pour toujours offrir aux auteurs les publics, dans leurs pays et partout dans le monde, qui feront vivre leurs films et offrir aux publics des films qui ne les laisseront jamais indifférents.

Lussas - docmonde@lussasdoc.org - 04.27.52.90.23​

EnglishFrench