My death is not mine

by Nino Orjonikidze and Vano Arsenishvili

GEORGIA, Germany - 2019 - 90 MINUTES

synopsis

People are working hard to extend the railway in a remote Georgian mountain village. When they're done, the new Silk Road Express will pass through here. But before this high-speed connection between China and Europe can go anywhere, a tunnel has to be dug - a tunnel that crosses a mountain where the villagers have their fields and pastures. In his office at the station, a former station master prepares for his role in the future, when many more trains will pass through the station.
There are promises of prosperity and progress, but in the dreamy atmosphere of the fairytale village, the arrival of the express train looks more like a nightmare. The roar of the mountain coming closer and closer, the villagers watch helplessly as the ground fractures and crumbles. Uncertainty is growing, as no one knows whether the houses are going to have to be demolished or not.
Language and communication problems between Georgian and Chinese workers lead to fierce disputes, and ultimately a tense strike. The stunning disengaged shots perfectly reflect the surreal atmosphere of a changing world order.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

PLUG

PRODUCTION

Artefact Production

Ventana-Film GmbH

DIFFUSION

ZDF / ARTE

PARTICIPATION

Not specified

Rewards

2020 : DOK.FEST Internationales Dokumentarfilmfestival München - Munich (Germany) - Horizonte Competition

2019 : IDFA - International Documentary Festival Amsterdam - Amsterdam (Netherlands) - Premier Film Competition

Lussas - docmonde@lussasdoc.org - 04.27.52.90.23

EnglishFrench

Ma mort ne m'appartient pas

de Nino Orjonikidze et Vano Arsenishvili

GÉORGIE, Allemagne - 2019 - 90 MINUTES

synopsis

Les gens travaillent dur pour prolonger le chemin de fer dans un village de montagne géorgien isolé. Lorsqu’ils auront terminé, le nouveau Silk Road Express passera par ici. Mais avant que cette connexion à grande vitesse entre la Chine et l’Europe puisse aller quelque part, il faut creuser un tunnel – un tunnel qui traverse une montagne où les villageois ont leurs champs et leurs pâturages. Dans son bureau à la gare, un ancien chef de gare se prépare à son rôle dans l’avenir, lorsque beaucoup d’autres trains passeront par la gare.
Il y a des promesses de prospérité et de progrès, mais dans l’atmosphère de rêve du village de conte de fées, l’arrivée du train express ressemble plus à un cauchemar. Le grondement de la montagne se rapprochant de plus en plus, les villageois regardent impuissants le sol se fracturer et s’effondrer. L’incertitude grandit, car personne ne sait si les maisons vont devoir être démolies ou non.
Les problèmes de langue et de communication entre les travailleurs géorgiens et chinois entraînent des disputes féroces, et finalement une grève tendue. Les superbes prises de vue désengagées reflètent parfaitement l’atmosphère surréaliste d’un ordre mondial en mutation.

Traduit avec www.DeepL.com/Translator (version gratuite)

FICHE

PRODUCTION

Artefact Production

Ventana-Film GmbH

DIFFUSION

ZDF/ARTE

PARTICIPATION

Non renseigné

récompenses

2020 : DOK.FEST Internationales Dokumentarfilmfestival München – Munich (Allemagne) – Compétition Horizonte

2019 : IDFA – International Documentary Festival Amsterdam – Amsterdam (Pays-Bas) – Compétition Premier Film

Lussas - docmonde@lussasdoc.org - 04.27.52.90.23​

EnglishFrench